Religious Relationships

Dear Loreal,

     My name is Chairon and I am currently dating a boy who is a Muslim. My parents think that it’s not a good idea because my family and I are Christians, but he and I really like each other. We seem to be having problems.  In my religion, women submit to men, but in his religion it seems women don’t have a voice.  He wants me to change my religion and he doesn’t like me eating a lot of pork. This religion seems to be a big breaking point in our relationship; what should I do about this??

Dear Chairon,

If your parents do not think that it’s a good idea to date someone outside of your religion and you really like him then let your parents know how you feel and why you really like him to try and convince them to think that its ok to date him.

However, changing your religion for your boyfriend is not a good idea. Both of you believe in different things and I understand that he wants you to change your religion to make things work out better, but things can still work out the way it already is if you both support each other.

Muslims believe that God is eternal; they also believe that Islam is the complete and universal version of primordial faith. As a Christian you believe that Jesus is the son of God and refer to Jesus as Christ of Messiah. By being different religions you both have to support each other in order to make your relationship work and if this is too much to handle in your religious relationship, then the best thing is to move on. You have a lot to learn in this life.

Posted on March 31, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

